Can you regenerate a creature that is being sacrificed

Asked by Rakdos_Lord_of_Chaos 10 years ago

i have a sultai deck that uses exploit and regenerate

billpasdmf says... #1

No. Regeneration only applies to creatures that would be destroyed. "Destroy" only applies when an effects specifically says destroy or a creature takes lethal damage.

May 6, 2015 11:16 a.m.

billpasdmf says... Accepted answer #2

Comprehensive rule about regeneration:

614.8. Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word instead doesnt appear on the card but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat. Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates. See rule 701.12.701.6b The only ways a permanent can be destroyed are as a result of an effect that uses the word destroy or as a result of the state-based actions that check for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g) or damage from a source with deathtouch (see rule 704.5h). If a permanent is put into its owners graveyard for any other reason, it hasnt been destroyed.
May 6, 2015 12:15 p.m.

Devonin says... #3

Technically, you can absolutely put a regeneration shield on something before you sacrifice it, it just won't prevent it from being sacrificed.

May 6, 2015 2:17 p.m.

This discussion has been closed