Can You Cast Morph Without Tax As A Commander?

Asked by SirFowler 10 years ago

If I have Akroma, Angel of Fury, am I allowed to continuesly cast it's morph cost of 3 if it died and not have to pay the "tax" for commanders?

VinierSpark018 says... Accepted answer #1

"702.35a Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card its on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. Morph [cost] means You may cast this card as a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and no mana cost by paying 3 rather than paying its mana cost. (See rule 707, Face-Down Spells and Permanents."

You can cast your Commander from the Command Zone, so you can Morph it from there too. Remember though, you still have to pay the Commander Tax, because Morph is just an alternate cost, so when you morph it, just add the "tax" to the morph cost

April 22, 2015 9:48 p.m.

SirFowler says... #2

The same goes for the dash ability. If I don't return a commander, say Zurgo Bellstriker, to my hand and decide to put him to the command zone, do I still have to pay his tax if he dies? I just didn't want to make another thread for the same type of question.

April 22, 2015 9:49 p.m.

VinierSpark018 says... #3

When a commander leaves the battlefield, its owner can choose whether to let it go wherever, or return it to the command zone. So for Zurgo Bellstriker, at the end step you can choose to either put him in your hand or back in the command zone.

April 22, 2015 9:52 p.m.

SirFowler says... #4

Thank you.

April 22, 2015 9:53 p.m.

VinierSpark018 says... #5

You are most welcome

April 22, 2015 9:54 p.m.

This discussion has been closed