Can you cast a sorcery miracle when it is drawn during your opponent's turn?
Asked by Aflax1 13 years ago
I was playing a game where I played a think twice during my opponent's end step and drew a temporal mastery. I thought that because of the miracle text saying; "You may cast this card for its miracle cost WHEN YOU DRAW IT if it's the first card you drew this turn." I could reveal it, then cast it, which I did. My opponent points out that it is a sorcery and says that I cannot cast it during his turn.
Can you cast a sorcery miracle when it is drawn during your opponent's turn?
yes you can cast for miracle cost during you opponents turn. miracle cost ignored if its a sorcery. if you feel like reading a better explanation regarding can be found on http://tappedout.net/mtg-articles/2012/apr/10/mafteechrs-classroom-miracle/
June 18, 2012 10:34 a.m.
When casting a miracle for it's miracle cost, there are no speed restrictions. This means you can cast the card at any time if it is the first card you draw. However, once you draw the card in order to use its miracle cost you must reveal it as soon as it is drawn and cast it then. You can't hold on to a miracle and do other things first then cast it later for its miracle cost.
June 18, 2012 10:36 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #4
The only reason you normally can't cast a Sorcery outside of "during one of your main phases, when the stack is empty" is because there's no rule or special effect giving you permission to do it. The Miracle ability specifically gives you permission to cast the spell at that special time, so being a Sorcery doesn't hold it back.
Note that if Miracle didn't work this way, it wouldn't work at all, since you wouldn't be allowed to cast the spell during your draw step, either.
doinitwrong says... #1
Yes, miracle sorceries can be cast right after you draw it as long as it's the first card you drew that turn.
June 18, 2012 10:27 a.m.