Can Spellskite Redirect Kessig Wolf Run?
Asked by lukejf01 13 years ago
I'm pretty sure I'm right on this, being that I can read English, but a recent online opponent claimed that I could not redirect his Kessig Wolf Run's ability from his Inkmoth Nexus to my Spellskite using it's ability. First he claimed Spellskite can only redirect spells, then he said his land had only effects not abilities, then he said he had documented proof it didn't work, then he said I should brush up on my skills before he quit. I would have won either way (whether I redirected it or took 9 poison) because I had 7 flying power on the board and he had 6 life, but for my ego's sake, please tell me Spellskite actually does something, haha!
GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #2
Wolf run's effect [effect generated by the resolution of the ability. the ability itself is not an effect] "Target creature gets +X/+0 and gains trample until end of turn."
Spellskite's ability: Change a target of target spell or ability to Spellskite.
Wolf run's pump ability is an activated ability. Once it has been activated and is targetting the inkmoth, it is totally a legal target for the spellskite [though the wolf run's ability targetting isn't a requirement for the spellskite to target it]. Since the wolf run's ability has only "target creature" as the targetting criteria and spellskite is a creature, it is legal to redirect the wolf run's ability to spellskite when spellskite's ability resolves. This will pump your spellskite, instead of his inkmoth.
tl : dr you're right, and he should brush up on his rules.
June 11, 2012 5:01 p.m.
GoblinsInc says... #3
Wolf run's effect [effect generated by the resolution of the ability. the ability itself is not an effect] "Target creature gets +X/+0 and gains trample until end of turn."
Spellskite's ability: Change a target of target spell or ability to Spellskite.
Wolf run's pump ability is an activated ability. Once it has been activated and is targetting the inkmoth, it is totally a legal target for the spellskite [though the wolf run's ability targetting isn't a requirement for the spellskite to target it]. Since the wolf run's ability has only "target creature" as the targetting criteria and spellskite is a creature, it is legal to redirect the wolf run's ability to spellskite when spellskite's ability resolves. This will pump your spellskite, instead of his inkmoth.
tl : dr you're right, and he should brush up on his rules.
June 11, 2012 5:03 p.m.
GoblinsInc says... #4
Sorry for double post, had computer and connection issues while posting.
AradonTemplar says... #1
Spellskite can redirect activated abilities and spells.Kessig Wolf Run has an 'activated ability,' indicated by the cost followed by a colon (XRG:). You can definitely redirect Wolf Run's ability to Spellskite.
Anything that you cast from your hand is a spell. Anything that has a cost followed by a colon (such as Kessig Wolf Run, or Spellskite's own ability) is an activated ability. Anything that triggers from certain events (such as enters-the-battlefield effects) are stated as 'Whenever X' or 'When X' or 'At X time' are triggered abilities. Spellskite can target and redirect any and all of these.
June 11, 2012 4:57 p.m.