Can I redirect the damage from Rakdos's Return to a Planeswalker?
Asked by SGB517 12 years ago
If I cast card:Rakdos's Return for X=5 targeting my opponent, can I send the damage at that opponent's Jace, Architect of Thought and still have my opponent discard 5 cards?
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2
Using the rule that allows you to redirect non-combat damage from an opponent to one of his planeswalkers doesn't change anything else about how an effect would work. Your opponent still discards the cards (remember you have to send all or none of the damage - you can't split it up).
October 23, 2012 11:02 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #3
@Raunien: The effect of card:Rakdos's Return doesn't tie the discard to the amount of damage actually dealt or who it was dealt to. It just makes "that player", meaning the "target opponent" mentioned earlier, discard X cards, where X is whatever it was defined as when the spell was first cast.
October 23, 2012 11:06 a.m.
@Rhadamanthus: Sorry, I misunderstood how planeswalkers worked.
October 23, 2012 11:10 a.m.
Awesome, thanks Rhad. That's how I played it at FNM last week and my opponent thought it was right, but there was no judge around to verify it yet.
The match almost went to turns and there were at least 15 people watching us by the end, including a judge.
Thanks for clarifying that you can redirect Return without shutting off Discard mode.
Raunien says... #1
I would think, that if the damage is directed to the planeswalker, then the planeswalker would discard cards. Obviously, a planeswalker doesn't have cards, so it would only do damage.
October 23, 2012 11:01 a.m.