Can enchantment alteration steal enchantment or only move it among opponents creatures?

Asked by Nuubi 6 years ago

The text in Enchantment Alteration is a little confusing where it says “The controller of enchantment does Not change”. Does that mean I can’t cast enchantment alteration and put the enchantment on one of my creatures, meaning it could only be switched among my opponents creatures or lands? Or does that mean that it’s still considered theirs but it’s redirected on your creature. Like when you cast a enchantment to tap a creature and it doesn’t untap , is the enchantment still considered your enchantment or does it become theirs? On a side note I have a 1995 Brian snoddy print on enchantment alteration that doesn’t read like the one that comes up in the link.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

You're allowed to move it to one of your creatures. That text is just reminding you that Enchantment Alteration doesn't change who controls the aura you're moving, just what it's attached to. If you move one of your opponent's auras to a creature you control then your opponent will still control the aura.

For older cards, always check out the current Oracle text on the card's Gatherer entry to make sure you're getting the most up-to-date version of what it says. The current Oracle text for Enchantment Alteration is simply "Attach target Aura attached to a creature or land to another permanent of that type." The main reason your 1995 printing of the card looks so different is because at that time it was still common for cards to have reminder text (the helpful text usually printed in italics) included as extra rules text.

March 4, 2019 3:08 p.m.

Nuubi says... #2

Cool, that’s what I thought. Thanks!

March 4, 2019 5:29 p.m.

Please login to comment