Are Bestow spells considered Creature spells on the stack?

Asked by polarbear22 11 years ago

My opponent played an Enchantment Creature for its Bestow cost. I had an Essence Backlash in my hand. After the game, a spectator asked why I didn't counter the spell with Essence Backlash . I replied that Bestowing is an enchantment spell on the stack. He argued that it is both an enchantment and a creature spell on the stack and I could have countered it.

Who was right?

billpasdmf says... Accepted answer #1

From the Theros release notes:

"On the stack, a spell with bestow is either a creature spell or an Aura spell. It's never both."

While it is true that it is an enchantment either way, it is not a creature if you pay the bestow cast, at that point it is an aura.

May 7, 2014 1:55 p.m.

billpasdmf says... #2

bestow cost, rather

May 7, 2014 1:56 p.m.

billpasdmf says... #3

Though, and please someone correct me if I'm wrong on this;

If bestow cost is paid and the chosen target is removed while the spell is still resolving, at that point it will resolve as a creature spell and can be countered as a creature spell.

May 7, 2014 1:59 p.m.

Devonin says... #4

It only sees the lack of target and becomes a creature -as- it is resolving, without any time to further respond with a counterspell.

May 7, 2014 2:30 p.m.

megawurmple says... #5

billpasdmf You're right about the first bit: if you pay the bestow cost, it is not a creature spell on the stack. Rather, it is an "enchantment - aura", so it can't be countered by Essence Backlash . However, if the target is removed before the resolution of the bestowed spell, it will not instantaneously become a creature spell. What happens is that, upon resolution, the aura will see that it has no legal targets. Instead of being countered by game rules like most auras, it will simply resolve as a creature spell. However, since the spell has already started resolving, it is too late to counter it.

May 7, 2014 2:33 p.m.

billpasdmf says... #6

TitansFTW Yeah, that makes sense. Thanks for clarifying.

May 7, 2014 3:19 p.m.

billpasdmf says... #7

Devonin too. Sorry. Thanks!

May 7, 2014 3:21 p.m.

polarbear22 says... #8

Thanks, everyone. Glad to know I didn't lose because of a dumb last-minute mistake. (Just a bunch of dumb earlier mistakes)

May 7, 2014 3:41 p.m.

This discussion has been closed