all creature types at once = wall = no attacking?
Asked by brcap 12 years ago
I'm wondering if...If a card is all types, this includes walls. Does this mean it would be incapable of attacking? Prior to "defender" being included in card text, it used to read "walls can't attack".
Thoughts?
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2
Ahead of the release of Champions of Kamigawa, the two creature subtypes that had extra rules baggage associated with them - Legend and Wall - were edited. Legend was removed as a creature subtype and replaced with the Legendary supertype, and Wall had its rules meaning removed and replaced with the Defender ability on all existing and future Walls. After this change the Wall creature type was temporarily retired from being printed on new cards (notice there are no Walls in Kamigawa block, Ninth Edition, or Ravnica block), but was brought back in Tenth Edition.
A Changeling is a wall, but that doesn't mean it has the Defender ability.
February 26, 2013 11:12 p.m.
KrazyCaley says... #3
TL;DR - The creature type "wall" no longer prevents a creature from attacking. Only the ability Defender does that.
GreatSword says... #1
Wizards has a database of all their cards called "Gatherer". Gatherer lists every single card ever printed, but more importantly it also has any errata or "re-written" parts of cards. These errata take precedence over anything "old" on the card.
Take the old card Animate Wall . It used to just say "Target wall can now attack". Under Gatherer though, it now says "Enchanted Wall can attack as though it didn't have defender."
So sure, Changelings can be walls, but that doesn't mean they can't attack.
February 26, 2013 10:23 p.m.