SurpriZe Deckling

Please login to comment

Really enjoying this deck so far, but in many of my games I've noticed that it's really difficult to deal with flying aggression. What are your thoughts on replacing Renegade Map, Utopia Vow or Vow of Lightning with either Gravity Sphere or Chaosphere?

October 14, 2017 7:17 a.m.

Said on War's Toll and ......

#2

If I have the enchantments War's Toll and Caverns of Despair out at the same time, and an opponent decides to attack while having more than two creatures capable of attacking, does that player get to choose which two creatures will attack, or is there a set pattern or rule that determines what two creatures are attacking in this situation?

October 12, 2017 2:45 p.m.

Said on MagicalHacker...

#3

Much appreciated for the help!

October 12, 2017 8:53 a.m.

Thanks for the response! In regards to politics, I don't think people care about what kind of counterspell you are using to counter what they are playing, since it prohibits them from playing a card regardless.

What other changes you would have made, if you were to disregard the price and "competitiveness" of cards?

October 12, 2017 8:32 a.m.

A lovely deck!

Have you ever considered adding Baral, Chief of Compliance?

Also, is there a reason you don't play Tundra in this deck?

October 12, 2017 3:10 a.m.

All right, thanks for clarifying!

October 8, 2017 2:34 p.m.

@Neotrup

Then why does the ruling for Spurnmage Advocate only mention the two cards in the graveyard but not an attacking creature as the part of the ability that's essential for its resolution? In the ruling for Pulsemage Advocate the ruling actually mentions both targeted requirements.

October 8, 2017 7:06 a.m.

With these particular cards: Spurnmage Advocate, Shieldmage Advocate, Nullmage Advocate, and Forcemage Advocate, do I have to have the second type of target in order to be able to activate the abilities?

For example, with Spurnmage Advocate, can I activate the ability if I only target two cards in an opponent's graveyard, while there are no attacking creatures? Or, can I activate Nullmage Advocate if there are no enchantments or artifacts on the battlefield?

The confusion stems from the fact, that if we look into the official rulings, for example, of Spurnmage Advocate, it only says:

"10/4/2004 You cant activate this ability unless a single opponent has at least two cards in their graveyard to target.", but it doesn't mention having to target an attacking creature.

However, Pulsemage Advocate is an exception, because in its rulings, we can see:

"10/4/2004 You cant activate this ability unless a single opponent has at least three cards in his or her graveyard to target and you have a creature card in your graveyard to target.", which is the only card of this type that actually has the mention of the second part of the ability in the rulings.

October 8, 2017 2:25 a.m.

All right, that makes sense. Few more things:

What mulligan rules do you usually play with?

Have you ever considered Phyrexian Obliterator? Seems to fit the theme, while being a decent beater as well. Or is it on the level of the mentioned "bombs"?

In most of my games, even after establishing a decent pillow/rattlesnake-fort, other players simply don't want to attack each other. They wait to get answers against my boardstate and target me primarily. A good example would be a board, where I only have Solitary Confinement, Marchesa with the Monarch, and a soft pillow, say Duelist's Heritage, out. So, I don't overextend. What do you do in such situations?

October 4, 2017 2:32 a.m.

Thanks for such thorough answers, as usual!

Speaking of mean cards, I've recently encountered a few people, who believe Serra Ascendant should activate at 50 life, instead of 30, as they perceive it to be simply too powerful for the cost, and not intended for EDH in any way. However, the same people play Sol Ring in every deck, and I'm unsure how to react to the accusations of playing overpowered creatures such as that. I'm really curious as to what your stance is on this matter.

October 2, 2017 12:04 p.m.

Having been playing around with the deck a bit more, I've got a few questions:

What is the ideal starting hand? What should I be looking for during the mulligan? Also, what are the mulligan rules you usually play with?

What do you normally find yourself looking for with the black tutors? Do you ever use the tutors early, or do you usually wait for the right situation to tutor for an answer?

Also, I've been recently looking through the official EDH rules at mtgcommander.net, and under number 13 I found this:

"Abilities which refer to other cards owned outside the game (Wishes, Spawnsire, Research, Ring of Ma'ruf) do not function in Commander without prior agreement on their scope from the playgroup."

Does it mean that Burning Wish is officially not allowed?

October 2, 2017 5:44 a.m.

Since you've added Treasure Map, how would you look at Sol Ring replacing it now? Do you think there might be better options for the replacement?

And Dowsing Dagger looks like an interesting addition, although there doesn't seem to be anything worthwhile to cut for it as of now.

October 1, 2017 5:09 a.m.

Thanks a lot for your insight, precociousapprentice! I truly appreciate the effort.

So far I'm enjoying this deck a bit too much, and I'd say it's expertly crafted, while rewarding you for trying to understand the ins and outs of its strategy. I've already had some really memorable situations with it, so, well done, overall!

September 30, 2017 12:33 p.m.

Decks

Finished Decks 0
Prototype Decks 0
Drafts 0
Avg. deck rating None
T/O Rank 895
Helper Rank None yet
Last activity 5 days
Joined 7 months