Zur the Enchanter question...

Asked by UpperDeckerTaco 7 years ago

So a buddy of mine plays Zur the Enchanter as his general for EDH, I play Sigarda, Host of Herons as mine.

Board state:

I have Sigarda, Host of Herons out and he has Zur the Enchanter out (that's all you need to know for the question at hand)

He attacks with Zur, triggers upon the attack and searches his Library for an enchantment...

The Question:

He selects to get Oblivion Ring from Zur's triggered ability, and he elects to "Oblivion Ring" my Sigarda. Is he still able to "target" Sigarda (because she's hexproof) with O Ring off of Zur's trigger? He's been doing these shenanigans a while now and says that he's allowed to because Zur's triggered ability puts the enchantment directly in play (also been doing this type of effect with Prison Term on hexproof creatures). Is this allowed? Because the enchantments still technically "target" though right? So the enchantments shouldn't be able to go onto a hexproof creature right?

Also, second part of the question, he sometimes chooses to get Diplomatic Immunity and put it on Zur and then get Daybreak Coronet and put it on Zur after Diplomatic Immunity is already on there...is he allowed to do this as well?

Thanks for the help.

Aztraeuz says... #1

Auras only target when they are cast. Zur's ability puts the Enchantments directly into play so the Auras don't actually target.

Those plays are legal for putting Auras on Zur and if he wanted to put Darksteel Mutation on your Sigarda.

I'm not sure that Oblivion Ring is a legal play though as I believe Oblivion Ring still has to target.

September 11, 2016 1:57 a.m. Edited.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #2

Oblivion Ring is not an aura. It's simply an enchantment that has an ETB triggered ability. Hexproof prevents the creature with it from being targeted by spells or abilities the opponents control.

As iAzire stated, only when an Aura is cast does a target need to be declared. If an aura entered the battlefield through any other means, no targeting is involved and can therefore enchant a creature with hexproof or shroud.

Oblivion Ring on the other hand, is just an enchantment and its triggered ability must still have a legal target. This is true no matter how Oblivion Ring came on to the battlefield.

You cannot target Sigarda, Host of Herons with Oblivion Ring's effect, even if you got it through Zur's ability.

September 11, 2016 2:09 a.m.

This discussion has been closed