Will a creatures activated/triggered ability resolve if the creature gets killed in response?

Asked by oakenshild 3 years ago

I have been playing magic for a nearly 4 years and this is the one general ruling that I can never remember.

Lets say I have a Duskwatch Recruiter  Flip on the battle field and I use its ability. I pay 3 and put it on the stack. Now someone Murder s my Duskwatch Recruiter  Flip. What happens to the ability that is still on the stack? Is the ability still on the stack?

Would there be a difference if it was a triggered ability? Say I had a Blood Artist instead and a creature just died.

Would there be a difference if it was a tap ability? Say I had a Deathrite Shaman and I was using its second ability.

P.S. The deathrites first ability is a manna ability and therefore does not go on the stack and can't be responded too right?

Denial048 says... Accepted answer #1

All abilities, once on the stack, exist independently from their source. That is, is the creature is destroyed, exiled or removed in any other way, the ability will still resolve. If it requires information about the source, it will use Last Known Information.

Deathrite Shaman does not have a mana ability. To be a mana ability, it must meet some requirements:

  • Does not target
  • May add mana to a players mana pool upon resolution
  • Is not a loyalty ability
May 28, 2016 5 p.m.

DaddyRabbit78 says... #2

Can you find the MTG rule that confirms that? I'm building a Krenko, Mob Boss deck and I'm sure this will come up based on how I'm building it and I'd like to reference the actual rule.

Thanks!

May 29, 2016 2:18 p.m.

Denial048 says... #3

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time wont affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, Prodigal Pyromancer deals 1 damage to target creature or player) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source because the effect needs to be divided checks that information when the ability is put onto the stack. Otherwise, it will check that information when it resolves. In both instances, if the source is no longer in the zone its expected to be in at that time, its last known information is used. The source can still perform the action even though it no longer exists.

May 29, 2016 3:08 p.m.

DaddyRabbit78 says... #4

Thank you much!

May 29, 2016 7:20 p.m.

oakenshild says... #5

Oh, wow that was fast! Thanks for the answer!

one last follow up Q

I have a Spikeshot Goblin and it has Loxodon Warhammer equiped. In response to its ability it gets Murdered. It would still deal 4 lifelink damage because that was its last know state?

May 30, 2016 1:57 p.m.

This discussion has been closed