What would happen to the counters?

Asked by Lloyd156_BLUE 4 years ago

So I have Glen Elendra Archmage and Death's Shadow in my graveyard and I cast The Mimeoplasm as a copy of glen elendra with the additional +1 counters of deaths shadow.

When I use Glen Elendras ability and sac her. Will the Mimeoplasm come back as her with 1 less +1 counter or will I need to use the Mimeoplasms ETB effect again?

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

It will come back as it's original card with no memory of it's previous existance, however with a -1/-1 counter on it. It's ETB will trigger again, giving you the option to exile two creature cards, which you can't, as your graveyard is now empty. That means it's a -1/-1 creature that will be put into the graveyard as a state-based action after it's ability resolves.

August 10, 2015 9:09 a.m.

BlueScope says... #2

And as a small correction because I always make this mistake: It's not an ETB triggered ability, but a static ability.

August 10, 2015 9:12 a.m.

Lloyd156_BLUE says... #3

Thanks for that. Just a note on the second part you mentioned. So if a Hushwing Gryff was on the battlefield and I cast the mimeoplasm his ability will still happen? If so that's great to hear.

August 10, 2015 9:46 a.m.

Boza says... #4

Hushwing Gryff has no effect on The Mimeoplasm. The gryff handles triggers from things that enter the battelfield. The mimeoplasm's effect is a replacement effect that modifies how it enters the battlefield. It occurs before it enters the battlefield.

However, if Gryff is on the field and you exile Disciple of Bolas and Sky-Eel School with the mimeoplasm (in which ever order), none of the ETB abilities granted to the mimeoplasm will occur.

August 10, 2015 9:54 a.m.

Lloyd156_BLUE says... #5

Thanks for clearing that up Boza.

August 10, 2015 10:02 a.m.

This discussion has been closed