What kind of ability does Lurrus have/use/resolve...?

Asked by CamraMaan 1 month ago

So there are four types of abilities: spells, triggered, activated, and static. Regarding Lurrus of the Dream-Den 's primary ability (second on the card), I'm assuming it's a triggered ability, but it doesn't read when/whenever/at. I'm intending to copy the effect, so I'm looking for clarity on how it's classified.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Lurrus of the Dream-Den has 3 static abilities. His second ability, lifelink, modified the result of damage to cause his controller to gain life equal to the damage dealt. This occurs as a single event, with damage being dealt simultaneously to the life gain. There was a point of time in Magic where this was a triggered ability that triggered when damage was dealt.

As for his other abilities, Companion functions at the start of the game, allowing you to reveal it from outside the game (declaring you met the conditions), and during the game allowing you to add it to your hand as a special action. While it does seem similar to a triggered ability (triggering at the start of the game) and an activated ability (to add it to your hand), it is in fact a static ability.

His third and final ability modifies the rules during your turn, allowing you to cast spells from a zone you normally wouldn't be able to. This isn't a triggered ability, as it doesn't have a specific time you're able to do it. If the card has flash, you can cast it during combat for instance. It does have a limit of only using it once per turn.

April 29, 2021 7:58 a.m.

Also note that spells are not abilities. They have what’s called a “one shot effect.” Where they do a thing once and that’s it. Permanent spells are also not activated abilities. They simply resolve and become permanents. Spells cannot be targeted by something like Stifle .

April 29, 2021 8:23 a.m.

Polaris says... #3

To be clear here, static abilities do not use the stack at all; in effect they add an extra rule to the game or modify an existing rule. The ones that function in play, lifelink and the cast from graveyard one, are immediately in effect the moment Lurrus of the Dream-Den enters the battlefield and continue operating up until the moment it leaves.

The casting ability doesn't cast cards itself, it just modifies the conditions under which you can cast cards (normally only from your hand, but with Lurrus in play, you are also allowed to cast one card that meets the requirements from your graveyard per turn).

April 29, 2021 11:55 a.m.

Caerwyn says... #4

In the future, please remember to hit the green "Mark as Answer" button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this matter has been answered for a few days and there are no pending follow-ups, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

May 3, 2021 11:56 p.m.

CamraMaan says... #5

My apologies Caerwyn, I just now managed to find my way back and read these replies... too many tabs open in my browser, with about 25 different things I jump between because... well, A.D.D.... but I try to always select an answer when I'm on top of reading replies in a timely manner.

As always, I appreciate all your answers and explanations, and they all helped clear this up perfectly! Thanks! :)

May 5, 2021 4:30 p.m.

Please login to comment