What is the timing to resolve creatures entering the battlefield with Defense of the Heart?

Asked by Mythwind 5 years ago

If I am able to activate the ability of Defense of the Heart in my upkeep and search for Dormant Sliver and Constricting Sliver , how, in what order, do they enter the battlefield? Do they enter exactly at the same time?

Do I get to draw 2 cards and exile 2 creatures? Or a choice in order of exile 1 creature and draw 2 cards vs. draw 1 card and exile 2 creatures?

Also if Defense of the Heart calls Progenitor Mimic and any other creature, can Progenitor Mimic copy that creature or no because it needs to already be in the battlefield?

RicketyEng says... Accepted answer #1

The two creatures do indeed enter the battlefield simultaneously. Whenever creatures enter or leave the battlefield at the same time, each one sees each other one. In the case of the slivers, I believe you would get both effects for both of the slivers.

As for Progenitor Mimic, I suspect it needs to copy a creature already on the battlefield. The key phrase being that it enters the battlefield as a copy, instead of it being a triggered ability that gets put on the stack when it enters the battlefield.

March 31, 2016 10:02 p.m.

Mythwind says... #2

Thank you! I read a Living Death ETB question and answer on slivers and this effect seemed to go in that direction.

March 31, 2016 10:10 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Note that Defense of the Heart does not have an activated ability. It has a triggered ability. This ability will trigger automatically at the beginning of your upkeep (if an opponent controls three or more creatures); you don't choose to "activate" it.

March 31, 2016 11:36 p.m.

This discussion has been closed