Veil of Summer vs Cryptic Command

Asked by ToolmasterOfBrainerd 2 years ago

I'm 90% sure on this one, but want to check in anyway.

Suppose I play a thing, and my opponent responds with Cryptic Command choosing to counter my thing and draw a card. If I respond with Veil of Summer , obviously my thing doesn't get countered, but does my opponent still draw a card?

I'm pretty sure they do, since Veil of Summer only stops my thing from being countered. It's still a legal target of Cryptic Command, and since it's a legal target my opponent still resolves Cryptic and draws.

xtechnetia says... Accepted answer #1

Yup. From Gatherer:

A spell or ability that counters spells can still target your spells after Veil of Summer resolves. When that spell or ability resolves, your spell won’t be countered, but any additional effects of the countering spell or ability will still happen. (emphasis mine)

September 20, 2019 3:15 a.m.

Please login to comment