Urborg and the Fetches

Asked by Sauron_ 6 years ago

Say I have an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth in play. Can I then use a Bloodstained Mire or Polluted Delta to tutor up any land in play? Or does Urborg just count lands that are in play?

GlistenerAgent says... Accepted answer #1

No. Urborg states that "Each land is a Swamp...". Since the card does not say "land card", it implies that it's ability only affects lands that are on the battlefield. Note that your fetchlands do also tap for black mana.

November 21, 2014 4:56 p.m.

theAzaZeL says... #2

7/18/2014: Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth isnt a Swamp while its not on the battlefield.

7/18/2014: Urborgs ability causes each land on the battlefield to have the land type Swamp....

So only affects lands that are on the battlefield.

November 21, 2014 4:57 p.m.

This discussion has been closed