Triggered abilities vs. Activated abilities on the stack

Asked by khaos2639 5 years ago

When multiple triggered abilities trigger at the same time, is it possible to respond to one of them with an activated ability prior to the 2nd triggered ability triggering?

Situation: Jace, Vryn's Prodigy  Flip is tapped

2x Retreat to Coralhelm are on the battle field

Play a land (causing both retreats' ability of "may untap creature" to trigger).

Could you let one resolve, use that to uptap Jace, immediately retap Jace via his ability, then allow the 2nd Retreat to trigger, re-untapping him?

Or would both Corals trigger simultaneously, preventing you from acting in between them?

Devonin says... Accepted answer #1

They trigger at the same time, and both go on the stack at once. However, any time anything resolves from the stack, there is a round of priority before the next thing on the stack resolves.

So both triggers happen and go onto the stack, then when one resolves, and untaps Jace, you have a chance to activate abilities to tap it again, before the resolution of the other trigger.

September 30, 2015 10:38 p.m.

This discussion has been closed