Toothy and Conjurors Closet

Asked by DINOSAURS65556 1 month ago

While playing at my LGS, someone pointed out that when conjurors closet targeted toothy, I should draw before toothy re-enters, meaning toothy wouldn't get counters from his draw trigger. Is this correct or does Toothy enter before I draw?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Use double square brackets around a card's name to create a reference link. It's the best way to make sure everyone understands what's going on in your question: Toothy, Imaginary Friend , Conjurer's Closet

Toothy re-enters the battlefield before you draw, and it will get counters.

If a triggered ability triggers in the middle of another spell or ability resolving, it has to wait until that other spell/ability is completely finished resolving before it gets put onto the stack. In your example this means Toothy's draw ability triggers when Conjurer's Closet exiles it, but waits to get put onto the stack until after the Closet's ability finishes resolving and returns Toothy to the battlefield.

May 5, 2021 7:40 a.m.

Please login to comment