Thunderous Orator ability/interactions

Asked by -TheContagion- 1 month ago

Thunderous Orator

According to Gatherer.Wizards.com it states:

"If you control a creature with one of the abilities listed in the last sentence, Thunderous Orator will gain the that ability, not flying."

That quote was directly copied from the site and I am not entirely sure the last part of the sentence makes grammatical sense.

Does this mean that if I control another creature with lets say, flying, lifelink and menace....Orator will get only lifelink and menace?

This should seem obvious and I apologize for the odd question, the wording on Thunderous Orator does seem very straightforward but the quote from Wizards seems to contradict what the card says.

Thank you in advance.

Named_Tawyny says... Accepted answer #1

No. The wording on the ruling is letting people know that Thunderous Orator gets the named ability that other creature(s) you control have.

It's worded that way because there's a possibility that without that ruling, somebody could think that Thunderous Orator would always just gain flying if another creature you control had indestructible, or etc...

May 6, 2021 1:10 a.m.

Please login to comment