Suppression Field - mana-sac effects

Asked by HeyAndy86 6 years ago

Ok i've built around Suppression Field in my esper deck and it's a card i have to clarify with my opponent allot including a disagreement over what clarifies as a mana ability especially around sacrifice effects. For example i just played against eggs, he thought he could crack his Chromatic Sphere for 1 rather than 3 mana and i disagreed.

Was i right in saying that it's not a mana ability but rather a sacrifice ability that produces mana as opposed to say a Birds of Paradise that specifically taps for mana itself therefore he needed to pay 3 to do it? If it were printed today i'm sure they'd add a lengthy description of what it hits which would be helpful but as is i have to know what i does and doesn't hit otherwise i'll be calling a judge over allot at tournaments :p

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

A mana ability is an ability that fulfills 3 requirements: produces mana, does not target, and isn't a loyalty ability. Chromatic Sphere fulfills these, so it is indeed a mana ability. Suppression Field will not affect it.

Chromatic Sphere wouldn't be any different if printed today, as it's a fairly basic effect.

May 27, 2014 2:28 p.m.

HeyAndy86 says... #2

ah ok thanks

May 27, 2014 2:58 p.m.

megawurmple says... #3

Don't forget to select an answer.

May 27, 2014 3:25 p.m.

This discussion has been closed