Stacking triggers from Phalanx Leader and Monastery Mentor

Asked by meecht 6 years ago

I have Phalanx Leader and Monastery Mentor on the field, then cast Gods Willing targeting Phalanx Leader .

Do I get to stack the triggers from Leader and Mentor so that the token gets the +1/+1 counter?

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, as you control both abilities, you may put them on the stack in any order. Make Phalanx Leader trigger first and the Mentor second, effects will resolve in opposite order, and your freshly created token will equally be blessed with a counter!

Also, don't be me - remember to Scry 1! :D

March 31, 2015 4:38 p.m.

BlueScope says... #2

Just to mention it, you actually control all three abilities that trigger, as Monastery Mentor has Prowess... where you stack that is pretty unimportant, though.

March 31, 2015 4:41 p.m.

meecht says... #3

I thought so, but since a spell is placed on the stack before a target is declared, I wasn't sure if there was some funky rules interaction going on.

Thanks!

March 31, 2015 4:44 p.m.

BlueScope says... #4

Choosing a target is actually part of casting a spell. Only after you do, the spell becomes cast and abilities that trigger when you cast a spell trigger at this point, not any sooner.

March 31, 2015 4:49 p.m.

This discussion has been closed