Sewer Nemesis hitting the graveyard in a multiplayer game

Asked by _poke_me 5 years ago

For whatever reason Sewer Nemesis is in my graveyard without ever hitting the battlefield (like being milled over with Satyr Wayfinder or discarded with Lotleth Troll ), and a spell that cares about power or toughness targets/uses him (like say Corpse Lunge ). Also for the sake of this argument one opponent has an empty graveyard, one has two cards, the third has nine and mine has three.

How big is my Sewer Nemesis here?

Can I choose freely the player whose graveyard Sewer Nemesis will count or is it a 0/0 because it never hit the field, thus never having a legal choice to relate?

Boza says... #1

Usually, creature with star / star have a characteristic-defining ability for their Power/Toughness, meaning it works in all zones (Tarmogoyf).

However, Sewer Nemesis is different - its power and toughness are 0 outside of the battlefield, since you cannot choose a player unless the creature is ETBing.

September 17, 2015 8:27 a.m. Edited.

TheRedMage says... Accepted answer #2

Notice that that Sewer Nemesis' power and toughness are always 0/0 while it is in the graveyard, regardless of whether it went there from the battlefield or from another zone. Choices made for a particular object are not "remembered" when the object changes zone (with a few exceptions described in rule 400.7) - in this case going from wherever it was, including the battlefield, to the graveyard.

September 17, 2015 11:48 a.m.

_poke_me says... #3

Thank you both, that was really helpful!

September 17, 2015 10:46 p.m.

This discussion has been closed