Pyrrhic Revival on a 1/1 with battlefield effect?

Asked by friskysausage 2 years ago

Two different interaction questions regarding Pyrrhic Revival

1) Pyrrhic Revival + (return: Predatory Sliver , Plated Sliver , Amoeboid Changeling )

2) Pyrrhic Revival + (return: Hada Freeblade , Kazandu Blademaster , Ondu Cleric )

Do all these 1/1 creatures go back into the graveyard or do their pumping effects add to the stack and resolve before Pyrrhic Revival's counters are placed?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Pyrrhic Revival puts the -1/-1 counters on the creatures as part of it's resolution after triggered abilities trigger, but before they can be put on the stack or resolve. In your first scenario the creatures would all survive, because the ability of Predatory Sliver and Plated Sliver would be boosting the toughness, for a net effect of +0/+1. In the second scenario each of the creatures would be put in the graveyard as a state based action once the spell finished resolving, then their abilities would be put on the stack. The first two creatures abilities would do nothing, as they wouldn't be around to collect the counters. The net effect would be gaining life equal to three times the allies you control, but it wouldn't count the allies that returned and died, just the ones you already had out. If there were other allies you returned that survived, you'd get more triggers, resulting in more life and whatever Rally abilities they had going off repeatedly.

February 27, 2017 3:40 p.m.

friskysausage says... #2

That's what I thought for the slivers, but I'm still having a hard time understanding your explanation of scenario 2.

To change it a little for a better understanding, let's say Hada Freeblade is already on the battlefield and I am returning Kazandu Blademaster and Ondu Cleric from the graveyard using Pyrrhic Revival.

You say each of the creatures would be put in the graveyard? Does the Hada Freeblade already on the battlefield trigger, giving him +2/+2?

Then how much life gain would I get? Just 1 for the the Hada Freeblade already on the battlefield?

February 27, 2017 5:35 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

Hada Freeblade would trigger twice, netting two +1/+1 counters, as you surmised. Ondu Cleric would also trigger twice, once for itself and once for the Kazandu Blademaster, both will die, and you'll gain 1 life off each trigger (for still having the Hada Freeblade), netting two life. The reason is the triggers all tike time to resolve and can all be responded to, either by you or your opponent, while the -1/-1 counters cannot as dying for having 0 or less toughness is a state based action.

February 27, 2017 6:15 p.m.

friskysausage says... #4

OK got it!

Thanks for the help

February 27, 2017 8:22 p.m.

Please login to comment