Protection vs non-aura enchantments?

Asked by Kaine999 5 years ago

I know about the DEBT acronym and how it affects aura based enchantments, but if I had Concerted Effort , Phyrexian Crusader and Mirran Crusader on the field would Concerted Effort be able to give my Phyrexian Crusader double strike (and the rest) from the Mirran Crusader even though it has protection from white?

Or to put it a simpler way, my opponent has Gravity Well and I have Sphinx of the Steel Wind and it is declared as attacking, since Sphinx of the Steel Wind has protection from green, will it still have flying, or will it lose flying?

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

If you know about the DEBT acronym, this is easy to answer: You check whether the ability or effect in question damages, tries to enchant (or equip, or fortify), tries to block or tries to target your protected creature. Neither Concerted Effort nor Gravity Well do either of those, so their effects work just fine. In the same way, Protection doesn't prevent from "Destroy all creatures", which is a common misconception.

If you're being confused by those cards being enchantments - the DEBT acronym cares about permanents enchanting the creature (meaning it has to be an Aura), not about the effects of a non-Aura Enchantment.

August 3, 2015 3:14 p.m.

Kaine999 says... #2

Thank you, I had been playing it that way under the suspicion that it was an effect that basically blankets the battlefield and therefore bypasses protection, just like the mass exile and mass destroy type spells.Cheers mate!

August 4, 2015 2:56 a.m.

This discussion has been closed