protection from black special circumstances?

Asked by doodkyle 7 years ago

my friend has duskrider falcon and i have teysa, envoy of ghosts. if the duskrider falcon attacks me and does damage does it die, or does its protection from black save it?

Absinthman says... #1

There is a very easy way to remember what protection actually protects from. Just remember the acronym DEBT. It stands for the following:

1. Damage - all damage that a source of a certain quality would deal to a permanent with protection from that quality is prevented.
2. Equipping/Enchanting - a permanent with protection from a quality can't be equipped or enchanted with a card of that quality.
3. Blocking - a creature with protection from a quality can't be blocked by creatures of that quality.
4. Targeting - a permanent with protection from a quality can't be targeted by spells of that quality or by abilities of sources of that quality. (In order for a spell or ability to target, it must use the word "target" in its text.)

Now, since the ability of Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts doesn't try to do anything of the above, it will have no problem with protection.

May 26, 2014 12:58 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #2

Please link all cards:
Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts
Duskrider Falcon

Protection prevents 4 things remembered by the mnemonic DEBT:
Damaged
Enchanted/Equipped
Blocked
Targeted

Since Teysa's destroy ability does none of those 4 things the Duskrider Falcon would still be destroyed by it. Of note to with her ability is that it doesn't state "If a creature is destroyed this way put a 1/1 white and black spirit..." so even if the creature isn't destroyed due to indestructible you still get the token.

May 26, 2014 1:06 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Make sure you link all cards in your question. There's a formatting guide at the bottom of the page.

May 26, 2014 1:14 p.m.

This discussion has been closed