Planeswalker ability effects new tokens?

Asked by Master_Tame 1 year ago

My friend used Sarkhan Vol and plus one'd him to give "creatures you control get +1/+1 and gain haste until end of turn."

Then he attacked with Najeela, the Blade-Blossom which created a 1/1 warrior token that was tapped and attacking. He argued that his 1/1 token would be a 2/2 because he had plus one'd his planeswalker. Is he right?

I think he was right. But my argument at the time was that when he plus one'd Sarkhan, he didn't have control of the token. The token didn't even exist when he plus one'd him. But I suppose that is overridden by the words "until end of turn."

Thanks for your input.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #1

Ruling from the Gatherer:

10/1/2008: Sarkhan Vol's first ability affects only creatures you control when that ability resolves.

So your argument at the time was correct. Only creatures under your opponent's control at the time that he activated Sarkhan's first ability would receive the boost.

If it were a continuous effect like on Gaea's Anthem, then the token would have received the boost as well, but continuous effects like that will (usually) only be found on permanents like enchantments, creatures, or artifacts, or on emblems, not gained through one-off things like sorceries, instants, or activated abilities.

July 22, 2018 3:52 p.m.

Master_Tame says... #2

Thanks for your answer, Kogarashi! I should have stood my ground. :)

July 22, 2018 4:04 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

And for further clarification between the two effects, from the comprehensive rules:

611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won’t change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability that doesn’t modify the characteristics or change the controller of any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren’t affected when that continuous effect began. If a single continuous effect has parts that modify the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects and other parts that don’t, the set of objects each part applies to is determined independently.

Example: An effect that reads “All white creatures get +1/+1 until end of turn” gives the bonus to all permanents that are white creatures when the spell or ability resolves—even if they change color later—and doesn’t affect those that enter the battlefield or turn white afterward.

Example: An effect that reads “Prevent all damage creatures would deal this turn” doesn’t modify any object’s characteristics, so it’s modifying the rules of the game. That means the effect will apply even to damage from creatures that weren’t on the battlefield when the continuous effect began. It also affects damage from permanents that become creatures later in the turn.

In this case, Sarkhan's first ability is not a static ability, it's activated, so it gives the bonus to all creatures Sarkhan's controller controls when the ability is activated, and won't affect those that enter the battlefield or come under his control later (see the first example). Gaea's Anthem, on the other hand, has a static ability that grants the boost, which is covered by rule 611.3:

611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.

July 22, 2018 6:14 p.m.

Please login to comment