Monastery Mentor and Non-creature spells

Asked by 9-lives 2 months ago

If i have Monastery Mentor on the battlefield, and I cast a non-creature spell, would the token generated by Monastery Mentor on that same turn get prowess of +1/+1? Or do I have to cast an additonal non-creature spell after Monastery Mentor resolves its token ability?

Grubbernaut says... #1

The token isn't on the battlefield when the spell is cast, so it will not get prowess from the spell that triggered Mentor to create it.

April 2, 2021 1:23 p.m.

9-lives says... #2

What if I cast the non-creature spell after summoning sickness wears off?

April 2, 2021 1:50 p.m.

Grubbernaut says... Accepted answer #3

Summoning sickness doesn't affect triggered abilities (like the creation of the token, or prowess triggers).

So: you have a Mentor. You cast a spell; on cast (BEFORE the spell resolves), the token gets created. Once that ability resolves, the Monk token is on the battlefield. Thereafter, any time you cast a noncreature spell, the Monk token will get a prowess trigger. Summoning sickness only means it can't attack (or, if it had any activated abilities [NOT triggered abilities], it can't activate those).

April 2, 2021 1:59 p.m.

Please login to comment