Manifest, Ixidron, and turning face-up

Asked by LGFlatron 2 months ago

I have a non-morph creature that I manifest with Scroll of Fate, then pay the CMC to turn it face up.

Later I play Ixidron which turns it face-down again.

Can I still pay the CMC of the previously manifested creature to turn it face-up again since it is still technically a manifested creature card? Or does manifest expire after the first time it is turned face-up?

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #1

No, you will not be able to pay the cost of the creature, because it no longer has manifest affecting it. The manifest effect ends when you turn it face-up the first time. Since Ixidron merely flips it face-down, only morph, megamorph, or another effect that turns cards face-up can flip it face-up again.

  • 701.33a To manifest a card, turn it face down. It becomes a 2/2 face-down creature card with no text, no name, no subtypes, and no mana cost. Put that card onto the battlefield face down. That permanent is a manifested permanent as long as it remains face down. The effect defining its characteristics works while the card is face down and ends when it’s turned face up.
March 21, 2020 1:32 a.m.

Please login to comment