Lifelink: dealing greater damage than the blocker's/target's toughness

Asked by Annro 6 years ago

My friend and I were playing earlier with paper Magic cards. He had a Soulfire Grand Master and Jeskai Ascendancy on the battlefield.

He cast a Stoke the Flames on my Mantis Rider and gained 4 life... but my Rider only has 3 toughness. Does Stoke actually do 4 damage?

We then proceeded to the declare attackers step. The Ascendancy made his Grand Master a 3/3 lifelinker, so I chump blocked with a 1/1 monk that I got from my Monastery Mentor earlier... and he gained 3 life, even though my blocker only had 1 health.

Was he right? He said he saw one of the guys do it in one of the pro tours... but the people I've played with only gained life equal to the toughness of the creature they killed.


Devonin says... Accepted answer #1

He was right. Sources deal all of their damage regardless of whether or not the life of the player or toughness of the creature is lower.

Stoke the Flames deals 4 damage. It deals 4 to a 1/1 it deals 4 to a 10/10.

January 7, 2015 12:18 p.m.

Annro says... #2

Ah, thanks! That clears out a lot for me. I've been playing wrong this whole time o_o

January 7, 2015 12:29 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Relatedly, players can have negative life totals and creatures can have negative P/T. The game does track stats past zero.

January 7, 2015 12:38 p.m.

This discussion has been closed