Leave the battlefield vs Put into a graveyard

Asked by python2048 7 years ago

Can I stack these triggers or does "leaves the battlefield" trigger first? If I have a Mimic Vat with an imprinted Mulldrifter and I evoke a Reveillark, can I stack the Mimic Vat trigger before the Reveillark trigger and target the Mulldrifter, can Reveillark's ability only target what is currently in the graveyard when it dies?

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, your assumption is (mostly) correct. An effect's targets are chosen when that effect is put on the stack. Since the Mulldrifter card will only be put back into the graveyard on the resolution of the Mimic Vat triggered imprinting ability, it won't be in there as a legal target when Reveillark's ability goes on the stack.

November 22, 2014 3:33 p.m.

This discussion has been closed