Kaalia of the Vast and Containment Priest interaction with flash and the stack

Asked by timschil 3 years ago

I have a question regarding Kaalia of the Vast and her triggered ability vs a flashed in Containment Priest . If a player attacks with Kaalia and puts onto the battlefield Avacyn, Angel of Hope with the triggered ability and another player flashes in Containment Priest in response to that what will happen with Avacyn? Does the triggered ability from Kaalia use the stack? Will Avacyn be on the battlefield before the Priest resolves?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Kaalia's ability triggers and goes on the stack, waiting to resolve. During that time, other players may respond with their own spells or abilities. In response to the trigger, someone could flash in Containment Priest, having it resolve before Kaalia's trigger.

However, Kaalia's controller will not have to choose a creature to put in until the ability resolves so you won't know what he'd put into play.

It's worth noting also that Kaalia's ability is a may ability, meaning that Kaalia's controller doesn't have to put a creature into play at all, but the ability will still trigger.

Also, Containment Priest's ability is a replacement effect, which modifies where a creature would go. If Kaalia's controller chooses to (against his better judgement) put a creature into play, it would go straight to exile without ever touching the battlefield.

March 7, 2016 10:38 a.m.

timschil says... #2

Thanks. One follow up. If Kaalia of the Vast was Swords to Plowshares after her ability went onto the stack it would still resolve and the owner would still have the choice to put a creature onto the board when the ability resolves, even though Kaalia will be gone?

March 7, 2016 11:10 a.m.

Correct. Activated and triggered abilities exist independently of the sources from which they came.

Once Kaalia's ability triggers, it will resolve no matter what may happen to Kaalia herself unless it's countered itself via Stifle and family.

March 7, 2016 11:17 a.m.

This discussion has been closed