Is the First Strike applies both on Attacking and Blocking?

Asked by tristen21 5 years ago

how about for Stensia Masquerade? it says "attacking creatures", is that specific on attackers only?

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

First Strike in general is a keyword ability that means that it will deal combat damage before creatures without First Strike - it only applies during attacking or blocking, not when, i.e. fighting another creature.

Stensia Masquerade's ability will grant only attacking creatures you control First Strike, meaning as soon as you declare a creature as attacking, it will have First Strike until the end of combat. In your opponent's turn when they could block (if they had Vigilance, for example), they won't have First Strike anymore, because they aren't attacking creatures anymore.

June 1, 2016 2:30 a.m.

This discussion has been closed