Is Crypt Ghast only able to extort for one life?

Asked by kamarupa 5 years ago

I want to confirm: Crypt Ghast can only use its extort ability to trade 1 life - IE, its controller can't use Crypt Ghast 's mana ramp to pay, say, 4 into its extort ability (once its controller cast a spell of course)?

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

Correct. Whenever you cast a spell, each extort ability of permanents you control triggers once. Each time an extort ability resolves, it allows you to pay 1 mana to drain life from your opponents. It does not allow you to pay 1 mana multiple times.

Simple questions like this are often answered by a card's Gatherer rulings. From Crypt Ghast 's:

4/15/2013: You may pay W/B a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.

June 21, 2014 3:49 a.m.

kamarupa says... #2

thank you! I appreciate the confirmation.

June 21, 2014 3:57 a.m.

This discussion has been closed