Interaction between Leyline of Singularity and Yomiji, Who Bars the Way

Asked by acbooster 1 month ago

This came up in conversation when talking about my Spirit tribal decklist.

Yomiji, Who Bars the Way has a triggered ability that will return a legendary permanent card back to the hand from the graveyard if it enters the graveyard from the battlefield.

Leyline of Singularity makes all nonland permanents legendary.

Let's say my Rattlechains dies with both of these on the field. It's a legendary creature when it leaves the battlefield, so Yomiji sees a legendary. Does the card still go back to my hand, even though it's no longer legendary once it enters the graveyard?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Yes.

When checking to see if an ability from a permanent leaving the battlefield triggers, last known information is used. As Rattlechains last existed in the battlefield, it was legendary.

June 11, 2021 6:13 a.m.

acbooster says... #2

Wonderful, I thought that's how it worked but I wasn't 100% sure.

June 11, 2021 9:33 a.m.

Please login to comment