Interaction between Emrakul's Evangel and Rowan's ultimate

Asked by CamraMaan 4 months ago

The idea is that I am snagging all my opponent's creatures with Rowan, Fearless Sparkmage 's ultimate, attacking with them, then tap/saccing Emrakul's Evangel to sacrifice all of my opponents' creatures and create an army of lil' Eldrazis... is that how it would go down, or will said army disperse back into their owner's barracks...? I'm also assuming I'm allowed to sacrifice my opponent's creatures like that. Thanks in advance!

CamraMaan says... #1

I'm not sure if I was clear enough, but I'm hoping I get to keep all the Eldrazi tokens...

January 29, 2021 1:50 a.m.

Omniscience_is_life says... Accepted answer #2

You may indeed sacrifice any permanent you control, the only difference with controlling a permanent you don't own is it'll go to your opponent's graveyard, hand et al. when destroyed, bounced etc. (except corner cases but let's ignore those for now!).

As for the tokens--it doesn't matter what you sacrificed to create them, as long as an effect you control makes them, you control them forever. The difference between them and the creatures you stole until EoT is they have no effect telling them to return to their owner's controls--ergo you keep them. Even if you stole an opponent's Atla Palani, Nest Tender and activated it you'd keep the Egg, as, again, nothing is telling it to do otherwise.

January 29, 2021 2:10 a.m.

CamraMaan says... #3

Awesome! I dig it! Thanks! :)

January 29, 2021 2:14 a.m.

Polaris says... #4

While the flavor is the Evangel mutating everyone into Eldrazi, a permanent that leaves the battlefield and a permanent that enters after are unrelated entities (even if they're actually the same card - say someone targets Murder on your Serra Angel and you Ephemerate it in response, your Angel will survive because it's technically a different permanent than the one Murder was targeting).

The Eldrazi you make, then, have nothing to do with the creatures you sacrificed to make them except there are the same number. They're not subject to any of the conditions the other creatures had from Rowan's ability (no return, no haste). For tokens, the controller of the effect that made them is the owner anyway, like Omniscience said.

January 29, 2021 12:50 p.m.

CamraMaan says... #5

Appreciate the extra clarity! Always! :)

January 30, 2021 12:32 a.m.

Please login to comment