If i copy a spell that has strive, how many targets can I target?
Asked by Sethes5 10 years ago
Lets say I hypothetically cast Howl of the Horde (with or without raid, doesnt matter) and then cast Silence the Believers . Since the text on Silence says to exile any number of creatures, the only limit being casting cost, does that mean the copy could exile any number of creatures for free?
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2
A copy of a spell includes all decisions made while casting the spell, including modes and targets. This is why copy effects allow you to change the targets, otherwise they'd be kind of dumb. A copy of a Strive spell will have the exact same number of targets as the original.
nighthawk101 says... #1
Here's a ruling for Strive:
If such a spell is copied, and the effect that copies the spell allows a player to choose new targets for the copy, the number of targets cant be changed. The player may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, the player cant choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
September 15, 2014 11:59 a.m.