hand size

Asked by Enditoren 6 years ago

hello :D if i have a Kruphix, God of Horizons and a Null Profusion , how many cards am i allowed to hold?

Kirtanei says... #1

613.6. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is usually done using a timestamp system. An effect with an earlier timestamp is applied before an effect with a later timestamp.

So, if Kruphix, God of Horizons was on the battlefield first and Null Profusion entered afterwards, Null Profusion takes effect over Kruphix, God of Horizons .
Should Null Profusion leave the battlefield, Kruphix, God of Horizons will make your handsize unlimited again, or should another effect come into play it will take place over Null Profusion .

October 25, 2014 9:36 a.m.

filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #2

Kirtanei is has the correct answer buy not the exact reasoning.

CDAs that modify hand size are not applied as part of the layer system. They get applied after all other CDAs but they still follow timestamp and dependency rules.

613.10. Some continuous effects affect game rules rather than objects. For example, effects may modify a players maximum hand size, or say that a creature must attack this turn if able. These effects are applied after all other continuous effects have been applied. Continuous effects that affect the costs of spells or abilities are applied according to the order specified in rule 601.2e. All other such effects are applied in timestamp order. See also the rules for timestamp order and dependency (rules 613.6 and 613.7).

Please check the gatherer before asking a question as it may have the answer.

From the Gatherer: If multiple effects modify your hand size, apply them in timestamp order. For example, if you put Spellbook (an artifact that says you have no maximum hand size) onto the battlefield and then put Null Profusion onto the battlefield, your maximum hand size will be two. However, if those permanents entered the battlefield in the opposite order, you would have no maximum hand size.

October 25, 2014 10:30 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

@lordoftheshadows: Note that not all continuous effects are CDAs. CDA stands for characteristic-defining ability, which is something like what Tarmogoyf has.

October 25, 2014 1:41 p.m.

filledelanuit says... #4

@Epochalyptik Thanks for the reminder; I'm still learning all of the correct terms.

October 25, 2014 4:50 p.m.

This discussion has been closed