Golos & Rule of Law

Asked by zigkid3 2 months ago

So it's my understanding that "Play" for Golos, Tireless Pilgrim is interchangeable with casting. (from a previous conversation about another similar card I had). So cards played using his activated ability would get cast triggers such as eldrazi or cascade.

But, my question is, will cards like Rule of Law or Eidolon of Rhetoric stop Golos, Tireless Pilgrim 's ability? If so, how? what would happen?

Sarkhan420X says... Accepted answer #1

"play" means "cast as a spell, or put into play as a land". Rule of Law and Eidolon of Rhetoric would both stop you from playing any more than 1 of the cards exiled by Golos, Tireless Pilgrim . and thats if you haven't cast any other spells that turn.

July 23, 2019 2:07 a.m.

Sarkhan420X says... #2

small edit to my previous post. technically, you "could" play more than 1 of the cards exiled by Golos, Tireless Pilgrim , IF one of them is a land and you haven't played your land drop for turn. you would be able to cast 1 spell and put a land into play.

July 23, 2019 2:10 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

"Can't" beats "can" in MTG. The restriction to only casting one spell a turn means that under no circumstances can you cast more than one.

Knowledge Pool just exiles the card, you don't cast another.

Possibility Storm just has you reveal cards and put them on the bottom.

Golos only lets you cast one and only if you haven't already

July 23, 2019 6:05 a.m.

Caerwyn says... #4

In the future, please remember to hit the green “mark as answer” button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for a couple of days with no follow-up questions, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

July 28, 2019 11:09 a.m.

Please login to comment