Forcing an opponent into a "voluntary" decision

Asked by legendofa 4 days ago

I have Obeka, Brute Chronologist enchanted with Freed from the Real and all the blue mana I need. During an opponent's draw step, I tap Obeka and ask if they want to end their turn. They naturally refuse. I untap and retap Obeka with the same question. How long can I stop the game like this, and are there any penalties I would suffer under the rules? Would it just come down to whoever loses patience first?

One one hand, all actions and decisions are voluntary and not mandatory, so it's not a forced draw. On the other hand, neither player has any incentive to ever change their action or decision.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Unfortunately you CAN force them to end the turn, provided that you have infinite blue mana.

725.3. Sometimes a loop can be fragmented, meaning that each player involved in the loop performs an independent action that results in the same game state being reached multiple times. If that happens, the active player (or, if the active player is not involved in the loop, the first player in turn order who is involved) must then make a different game choice so the loop does not continue.

May 14, 2022 2:26 a.m.

legendofa says... #2

Gidgetimer Thanks!

This seems abusable, if anyone was a big enough griefer, which I'm sure nobody here would be tempted...

May 14, 2022 3:07 a.m.

Yesterday says... #3

Ha. That's messed up.

May 14, 2022 3:38 a.m.

Please login to comment