Flickering a Transformed Creature

Asked by joegy117 3 years ago

I have an Eldrazi Displacer and an Avacyn, the Purifier out on the field...and I displace the Avacyn. Am I correct in thinking that Archangel Avacyn  Flip is the creature that is going to return to the field? Also lets say I displace a melded creature, do the two creatures that made the melded creature return to the battlefield or the one melded creature?
Thanks!

nobu_the_bard says... #1

Flickering a transformed creature, the face side returns to play; you're right there.

Flickering a melded creature like Brisela, Voice of Nightmares, both face sides return to play separately. The meld is broken. It could potentially meld again when its conditions are met, as with Gisela, the Broken Blade.

July 19, 2016 12:56 p.m.

joegy117 says... #2

The front face or the back face side? (For the first question)

July 19, 2016 12:58 p.m.

joegy117 says... #3

Wait...does face side mean front side?

July 19, 2016 12:59 p.m.

The "sun side", the "face-up" side, and the "default side" all mean the same thing: It's the side that the card is naturally showing outside of the battlefield and even outside the game. An easy way to remember is it's the side with the Mana Cost showing.

July 19, 2016 1:05 p.m.

RicketyEng says... Accepted answer #5

In any zone other than the battlefield, the front face of a double faced card is the only face that exists. As soon as a DFC leaves the battlefield, its front face is turned face up. If that card is then returned to the battlefield, it will be with its front face up unless an ability explicitly states otherwise.

If a melded creature is blinked, it will return as the original two creatures. If Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip is blinked, she will return as Archangel Avacyn  Flip.

July 19, 2016 1:11 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #6

Note that Meld cards aren't true DFCs, as the back side isn't a proper Magic card face. However, the rules for how to handle Meld cards and DFCs are mostly the same with only a few small differences. For example, a Meld card can't "transform", so an effect like Moonmist won't cause Hanweir Garrison or Midnight Scavengers to turn over.

July 19, 2016 1:21 p.m.

nobu_the_bard says... #7

Sorry, didn't realize there was a specific term for the sides when they are a DFC; I'd always just called them the face side and back side since this is what they are called normally. I can see why that might seem confusing now.

July 19, 2016 2:02 p.m.

This discussion has been closed