Flash and the "Exploit" mechanic.

Asked by Pheardemons 3 years ago

I am asking for clarification on this. I am not sure if I trust myself on rules enough yet. If this should be obvious I do apologize.

Scenario - At the end of my opponent's end step I cast Flash to flash in Sidisi, Undead Vizier . My understanding is the "Exploit" trigger goes on the stack, however Flash has yet to finish resolving. My clarification is if I do not have the mana to keep Sidisi, Undead Vizier she is sacrificed because of Flash , and therefore would need another creature in order to get the tutor. Is that correct?

Or would I be able to sacrifice Sidisi, Undead Vizier to her own exploit trigger to get the tutor?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Correct. Here are rulings from Gatherer regarding Flash:

5/1/2007 The creature enters the battlefield, so it will trigger enters-the-battlefield abilities even if you have chosen to not pay.

10/1/2009 If you choose not to pay, the creature is sacrificed immediately. No player will get priority in between the creature entering the battlefield and being sacrificed. Sacrificing the creature this way will trigger any abilities that trigger when a creature leaves the battlefield.

In order to tutor for a card, you will be required to have another creature on the battlefield able to be sacrificed to Exploit because by the time the Exploit trigger goes on the stack in order to resolve, Sidisi, Undead Vizier will be in your graveyard.

September 3, 2016 11:59 p.m.

Pheardemons says... #2

Thank you Raging_Squiggle

September 4, 2016 12:04 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

Keep in mind that if Sidisi, Undead Vizier isn't on the battlefield at the time you exploit something then her last ability won't trigger at all.

September 4, 2016 12:05 p.m.

Pheardemons says... #4

Rhadamanthus - Seriously? Damn. Thank you for telling me. I did not know that.

September 4, 2016 6:24 p.m.

This discussion has been closed