Enters the battlefield with an additional +1/+1 counter and Evolve

Asked by -Orvos- 1 year ago

Let's pretend the board state is:

2/3 Gyre Sage (she has a single +1/+1 counter on her)

2/1 Metallic Mimic (declared as elf)

I cast Bramblewood Paragon and it enters the battlefield.


My question is:

--- does Bramblewood Paragon ETB as a 2/2 and NOT trigger Gyre Sage 's evolve?

--- or does Bramblewood Paragon ETB as a 3/3 (because of Metallic Mimic ), trigger the evolve and Gyre Sage gets another +1/+1 counter?

Gattison says... Accepted answer #1

-Orvos-: The second option is true. As soon as the creature enters the field it gets the buff, then checks are made. Bramblewood Paragon would ETB as a 3/3, thus triggering the Gyre Sage 's evolve.

Also note that this same logic applies to creatures that ETB with +1/+1 counters on them also.

October 9, 2019 7:25 p.m.

Please login to comment