Elite Arcanist & Beseech the Queen

Asked by luca626 4 years ago

Using Elite Arcanist to cast Beseech the Queen , do you pay 3 mana or 6?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Beseech the Queen has a converted mana cost of 6 (which is says in the reminder text on both the Shadowmoor and Planechase versions). Elite Arcanist requires you to pay where X is the converted mana cost, so you would have to pay .

April 22, 2017 1:55 a.m.

luca626 says... #2

that's what I was saying too but a judge over-ruled me and said otherwise...

April 22, 2017 2:12 a.m.

For future reference luca626, the magic tournament rules 2.9 states "If a player disagrees with a judges ruling, he or she may appeal the ruling to the Head Judge." In large tournaments there are also often appeals judges wandering around that you can appeal to in place of the head judge. Either way, you have the right to request the oracle text of a card for any reason, and the oracle text of ANY printing of Beseech the Queen says "This card's converted mana cost is 6." which should make your appeal very easy to win.

April 22, 2017 12:51 p.m.

Neotrup says... #4

Also, Elite Arcanist cannot exile Beseech the Queen, as it only exiles Instants, not Sorceries.

April 22, 2017 2:20 p.m.

Please login to comment