Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite and Kormus Bell

Asked by VictorSilvertome 2 years ago

My opponent controls an Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite , Kormus Bell , and an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth .
I control a Urabrask the Hidden . I play a Mountain. Can I tap the Mountain I just played for mana before it goes to the graveyard?

No. It'll die as a state based action for having 0 toughness before you get the chance to tap it for mana.

April 5, 2017 8:18 p.m.

State based actions check when a player make a special action?

April 5, 2017 8:53 p.m.

605.3a A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if its in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.

While it is a special action, it can still only be activated when you have priority. State based actions are checked each time a player would get priority, meaning it checks before that actually happens.

April 5, 2017 9:02 p.m.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #4

More things:

115.2a Playing a land is a special action. To play a land, a player puts that land onto the battlefield from the zone it was in (usually that players hand). By default, a player can take this action only once during each of his or her turns. A player can take this action any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn. See rule 305, Lands.

115.3. If a player takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward.

April 5, 2017 9:10 p.m.

Ok, thanks dude!

April 5, 2017 9:22 p.m.

Please login to comment