Dragon Tempest and Descent of the Dragons

Asked by Wabbbit 4 years ago

Can someone just explain what exactly happens if I have lets say five creatures on the field with a Dragon Tempest . I then cast Descent of the Dragons , sacrificing all five of my creatures. What exactly happens, and why? Does my opponent take five from Dragon Tempest , or nothing?

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #1

Dragon Tempest would deal 5 damage 5 times for a total of 25 damage. Each dragon triggers Dragon Tempest separately, and when those triggers resolve you have 5 dragons on the battlefield under your control.

Not that it really matters most of the time, but you aren't sacrificing those creatures, they're simply being destroyed.

August 6, 2015 12:14 a.m. Edited.

Wabbbit says... #2

Holy crap really?! So in the scenario I just depicted, I would win?

August 6, 2015 12:17 a.m.

FancyTuesday says... #3

Assuming they have 25 or less life and you directed it all at your opponent, yes. They can kill dragons in response to their ETB triggers and take less damage per trigger, but still take damage from 5 triggers.

August 6, 2015 12:33 a.m.

Wabbbit says... #4

Huh, that's....way better then I expected, which never happens to me! Thanks for the quick response, will mark as answer.

August 6, 2015 12:35 a.m.

This discussion has been closed