Does Vial Smasher the Fierce see alternative/additional costs?

Asked by NixTheThird 2 years ago

Does Vial Smasher the Fierce ability include the alternative costs for things like Cyclonic Rift and additional costs like Silence the Believers ? Such as, if I cast a Comet Storm where X=5 and multikick it for 3, will Vial Smasher's effect also include the mana used in the multikicker? I know that Vial Smasher does care about the value of X for variable spells (that ruling is right there in Gatherer), but want to make sure that the same thing applies for other costs, similar to Mizzix of the Izmagus.

hyperlocke says... Accepted answer #1

Everything that cares about CMC means the mana symbols in the top right corner of the card. Alternative costs (eg Overload) and additional costs (eg Kicker) don't count towards the CMC.

January 5, 2017 10:09 a.m.

Neotrup says... #2

No, Vial Smasher the Fierce only cares about the spells converted mana cost. That's the cost printed on the card, as modified by the value of X. If someone were to cast Firecat Blitz with flashback sacrificing 3 mountains, Vialsmasher would deal 5 damage, despite them only paying 5 damage. If someone miracles Entreat the Angels for 5 mana, Vialsmasher will deal 9 damage, because X=3 and 3+3+3=9.

January 5, 2017 10:14 a.m.

NixTheThird says... #3

Thanks, I got mixed up with Mizzix's ability and that threw me off with Vial Smasher.

January 5, 2017 10:15 a.m.

This discussion has been closed