Does Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth apply to lands not in play?

Asked by VampiricJace 6 years ago

Say I have an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and a Polluted Delta on the field. I sac PD to go get a Swamp. Can I technically retrieve Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx if it is considered a Swamp from Yawgmoth?

I mean, it doesn't specify 'you control' or 'on the battlefield.'

filledelanuit says... #1

Please check the gatherer rulings before asking a question here. They already have the answer to your question.

7/18/2014: Urborgs ability causes each land on the battlefield to have the land type Swamp. Each land thus has the ability T: Add B to your mana pool. Nothing else changes about those lands, including their names, other subtypes, other abilities, and whether theyre legendary or basic.

February 20, 2015 11:16 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

The distinction with Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth is that it makes lands swamps, not land cards. If you look at anything that interacts with objects that are not on the battlefield it specifies "TYPE card" or "TYPE spell". TYPE without another word after it is referring to a permanent on the battlefield.

February 20, 2015 11:24 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

I know that I didn't specify in my response but: No, Urborg would not allow you to fetch cards that do not have the printed type "Swamp".

February 20, 2015 11:28 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@lordoftheshadows: If a ruling doesn't directly answer the question, or answers the question more subtly, make sure you characterize or contextualize the answer.

February 20, 2015 12:06 p.m.

filledelanuit says... #5

Sure.

February 20, 2015 3:19 p.m.

This discussion has been closed