Does restricted-use mana put into Ice Cauldron come out restricted?

Asked by benouttait 2 years ago

Suppose I activate the first ability of Ice Cauldron using Rosheen Meanderer and exiling a non-X spell onto the Cauldron, such as Darksteel Colossus. When I activate the second ability of Ice Cauldron, will the four colorless mana added still retain Rosheen Meanderer's restriction on only being able to be used on X costs?

The closest relevant Gatherer ruling I could think of is a ruling on Doubling Cube, where the mana it produces is free from restriction, but I don't know if that would apply in this situation.

XownagerX says... Accepted answer #1

106.1b There are six types of mana: white, blue, black, red, green, and colorless.

As the mana you use from Rosheen Meanderer to put it into Ice Cauldron will have the charge counter, put onto Ice Cauldron, contain the .

To understand it more clearly I'll try explain it in my own words of how I understand it:

The , is a cost you must pay to activate Ice Cauldron's activated ability. The mana that you got from Rosheen Meanderer is used in the cost of the activated ability from Ice Cauldron which resolved with no problem. Then the activated ability of Ice Cauldron 'remembers' itself and stored it into the charge counter.

Basicly the Ice Cauldron 'remembers' the type and amount you spent, which is in this case.

So you may use that mana provided by the second activated ability of Ice Cauldron to cast the exiled card.

March 7, 2018 3:19 p.m.

Please login to comment