Does redirecting damage change the properties of that damage?

Asked by Lame_Duck 7 years ago

For example, if I have a creature enchanted with Pariah and Ghostly Possession and an opponent's creature deals combat damage to me, would the redirected damage still be considered combat damage and therefore be prevented by Ghostly Possession?

What about if I have a creature enchanted with Pariah and Pentarch Ward choosing "red" and my opponent hits me with Lightning Bolt , is the damage still considered to be coming from a red source and will be prevented?

GoldGhost012 says... Accepted answer #1

Yes in both cases. Pariah just switches what the damage is dealt to. In your first scenario, the combat damage would be dealt to the creature with Pariah , but it would be prevented due to Ghostly Possession . In your second scenario, the source of the damage is still red, so the damage dealt (to the creature with Pariah ) will be prevented by Pentarch Ward .

June 20, 2014 11:40 a.m.

Lame_Duck says... #2

Awesome. Thank you.

June 20, 2014 11:42 a.m.

This discussion has been closed