Does Negate give back the land used to cast Hammer of Purphoros?

Asked by Argy 5 years ago

If my opponent casts Hammer of Purphoros and then I cast Negate, does s/he get the land back that was to be sacrificed to cast the Hammer?

filledelanuit says... #1

You don't have to sacrifice a land to cast Hammer of Purphoros. The sac is required to activate the ability. You cannot use Negate to counter an activated ability.

If a spell like Natural Order requires you to do something as an additional cost you don't get it back if the spell is countered.

February 26, 2015 9:08 a.m.

Boza says... #2

Casting and activating abilities are completely separate actions. Casting the hammer requires you to tap . After that, you can activate the ability for . Counterspells do not counter activatated abilities, unless they specifically say so like Stifle.

Also, the payment of costs for the ability does not get refunded if it is countered. That would make counterspells useless.

February 26, 2015 9:32 a.m.

Argy says... Accepted answer #3

I got what happened wrong.

He cast Hammer of Purphoros, didn't wait for my response, proceeded to make himself a Golum, and took back the sacrificed land after I got time to Negate the Hammer.

In which case, he was right as he would never have been able to activate the ability the caused the land to sac.

I'm pretty sure.

February 26, 2015 10:24 a.m.

sonnet666 says... #4

That situation is correct, however in a tournament setting he probably would have got a warning for not waiting for your response.

February 26, 2015 9:07 p.m.

filledelanuit says... #5

@sonnet666 Obviously at regular this wouldn't be anything but a quick talk from the judge telling him to wait for responses. At competitve he would get a warning for GRV-GPE.

February 26, 2015 9:20 p.m.

This discussion has been closed